clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Washington Commanders’ 2024 Opponents

Who does Washington play next season?

New Orleans Saints v Washington Football Team Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images

The NFL season is over and the playoff brackets have been set. The Washington Commanders finished with a terrible 4-13 record and will be sitting at home when 12 teams play next weekend. We found out a few things after the last game was played. Washington will have the 2nd overall pick in the 2024 draft, and we know who they will be playing next season.

NFL schedules are set from year to year due to a rotating schedule, and all the teams are known except for three for years in advance.

The scheduling formula implemented in 2002 with realignment guarantees that all teams play each other on a regular, rotating basis.

Under the formula, every team plays 17 games as follows:

Home and away against its three division opponents (six games).

The four teams from another division within its conference on a rotating three-year cycle (four games).

The four teams from a division in the other conference on a rotating four-year cycle (four games).

Two intraconference games and one interconference game based on the prior year’s standings (3 games). These games match a first-place team against the first-place teams in the two same-conference divisions the team is not scheduled to play that season as well as one team from the other conference. The second-place, third-place, and fourth-place teams in a conference are matched in the same way each year.

Washington plays two divisions next year, the AFC North and the NFC South. They finished 4th in their division and will play the 4th place finishers from the NFC West (Arizona Cardinals), AFC South (Tennessee Titans), and NFC North (Chicago Bears) in 2024. Washington, like all NFC teams, will play 8 road games and 9 home games in the 2024 season.

Washington 2023 Opponents:


Dallas Cowboys

New York Giants

Philadelphia Eagles

Atlanta Falcons

Carolina Panthers

Cleveland Browns

Pittsburgh Steelers

Tennessee Titans

Chicago Bears


Dallas Cowboys

New York Giants

Philadelphia Eagles

Baltimore Ravens

Cincinnati Bengals

New Orleans Saints

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Arizona Cardinals