clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Washington Football Team names their 2021 Team Captains

Who got the C on their jersey?

NFL: NFC Wild Card Round-Tampa Bay Buccaneers at Washington Football Team Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

The Washington Football Team has announced their 8 team captains for the 2021 season. The group featured 4 players who were captains at the end of last season and 4 new captains voted on by the team. Ron Rivera explained how captains were picked this year in his post-practice presser

Q: What is your process for choosing team captains, and how much stock do you put into what those guys decide?

Rivera: “I put a lot of stock into what they decide. I trust those guys. They know who’s who. What we did was last year the 4 captains that finished the season for us were holdovers, and then we voted on 4 new ones. The players decided who they felt should be the other 4. I was really pleased there were a number of guys that got votes. It kind of shows you that the guys feel their are a lot of guys who lead this team. So I felt very good about their decisions. They’re all good young men, and they’re the kind of guys you want leading your team.”

Q: From the Captains this year, does the youth stand out in terms of maybe having those guys who will be able to lead also in the future?

Rivera: “I think so. A lot of those guys are guys that we believe in, that we feel are going to be here and have a chance to be part of what we’re building obviously. Like I said it was an interesting tally because if you look at the numbers there were several other guys that got a lot of the votes. They chose, and we went with what they picked.”

Jonathan Allen, Brandon Scherff, and Deshazor Everett were voted team captains at the start of last season. Terry McLaurin was voted a team captain when Landon Collins was placed on IR, and Chase Young became a team captain after Dwayne Haskins Jr. was released. The new team captains this season are Ryan Fitzpatrick, Logan Thomas, and Jon Bostic.