clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Scot McCloughan Says Chase Young is the Best DE Prospect He’s Scouted

NFL: Washington Redskins at Arizona Cardinals Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Former Redskins general manager Scot McCloughan ran the team’s drafts from 2015-2016. As many of you know, I was not a fan of many of McCloughan’s decisions during his two year stint as general manager, most arising from the 2016 NFL draft, and some of his head-scratching free agent moves. But, make no mistake about it, the guy does have a keen eye for talent. I’ve always viewed him as a better “scout” that an ultimate decision maker for a franchise.

McCloughan was responsible for giving us Brandon Scherff, Kendall Fuller and Matt Ioannidis, and we have seen other players like Jamison Crowder and Austin Reiter go on to have good years outside of D.C.

McCloughan had a hand in some amazing draft picks when he was a member of the front office in Seattle from 2010-2013. Some of the notable players from those classes include Russell Okung, Earl Thomas, Golden Tate, Cam Chancellor, K.J. Wright, Richard Sherman, Russell Wilson, Bobby Wagner and Luke Wilson.

Scot seemed to have a knack at finding those mid-to-late round gems that many teams overlooked.

This morning, he joined Kevin Sheehan and The Team 980 to discuss the 2020 NFL Draft.

He had some comments on Chase Young that may be of interest to Redskins fans.

So, 28 years as a talent evaluator is a long time. Think whatever you want about McCloughan, but that is saying something. If one of the best scouts the game has seen in 20 years is saying this, those “generational” labels being heaped on Young may just have some credence.


What should the Redskins do Thursday night in the draft?

This poll is closed

  • 82%
    Take Chase Young at pick 2
    (2296 votes)
  • 1%
    Take Isaiah Simmons at pick 2
    (35 votes)
  • 0%
    Take Jeff Okudah at pick 2
    (14 votes)
  • 15%
    Trade back for more picks in the 1st and 2nd round
    (423 votes)
2768 votes total Vote Now