clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Redskins name Alex Smith as the team’s 2019 Ed Block Courage Award recipient

Detroit Lions v Washington Redskins Photo by Scott Taetsch/Getty Images

The Washington Redskins announced today that they have named quarterback Alex Smith the winner of the team’s 2019 Ed Block Courage Award. The honor is given annually to a player from each National Football League team who displays extraordinary courage in the face of adversity.

Washington Redskins and the Houston Texans Photo by John McDonnell/The Washington Post via Getty Images

Smith missed the entire 2019 season after suffering a season-ending leg injury in Week 11 of the 2018 season.

Smith has appeared in 166 career regular season games with 161 starts in his career. He has completed 3,082 passes for 34,068 yards and 193 touchdowns and has a career passer rating of 87.3. He has also started in all seven postseason contests that he has appeared in and has completed 156 of his 253 passes for 1,745 yards with 14 touchdowns and two interceptions and a passer rating of 97.4.

The Courage Award is named after Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. The inaugural Ed Block Courage Award was presented in 1978 to Baltimore Colts defensive end Joe Ehrmann. Following the Colts’ departure from Baltimore in 1984, the scope of the award expanded to include one player from every team in the NFL.


2019 Alex Smith

2018 Chris Thompson

2017 DeAngelo Hall

2016 Niles Paul

2015 Morgan Moses

2014 Keenan Robinson

2013 Robert Griffin III