clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Redskins release updated roster depth chart

New, comments

Week 1 of real football is almost here

NFL: Washington Redskins at New England Patriots Paul Rutherford-USA TODAY Sports

With the Redskins’ first regular season matchup against the Cardinals just four days away, the team has released their first depth chart after the roster was cut down from 90 to 53 players this weekend.

The Redskins chose to not go with 3 QBs again this year. Third stringer Kevin Hogan was released and then claimed by the Denver Broncos. They cut former 1st round pick Paxton Lynch to make room for him. Newly-extended Colt McCoy's spot as backup QB was never in doubt, and he will switch from backing up Kirk Cousins the last few seasons to being the clipboard holder behind Alex Smith.

Derrius Guice's injury changed everything for the Redskins at the RB position. The team went out and signed Adrian Peterson, and kept 5 RBs on the roster. Byron Marshall is expected to go to IR with a sprained ACL/MCL, and Kapri Bibbs is waiting for his chance on the practice squad. Chris Thompson, Rob Kelley, and Samaje Perine all return to the Redskins backfield this season.

(This post was updated go reflect the current depth chart listed here.)

A FB? Haha, maybe next year...

Josh Doctson, Paul Richardson, and Jamison Crowder are your top 3 WRs. The Redskins went with youth and potential for the remaining 3 spots. Brian Quick got the boot in favor of Cam Sims, Maurice Harris, and Trey Quinn.

Most of the Redskins offensive line is returning from last season. Spencer Long and T.J. Clemmings are gone. Geron Christian was taken in the 3rd round this year to provide more depth at the tackle position. UDFA Casey Dunn was one of the suprises to make the roster, and is listed as the backup for both guard positions.


QB: Alex Smith, Colt McCoy

RB: Adrian Peterson, Chris Thompson, Rob Kelley, Samaje Perine/Byron Marshall

FB: Haha

WR: Josh Doctson, Maurice Harris

WR: Jamison Crowder, Trey Quinn

WR: Paul Richardson Jr., Cam Sims

TE: Jordan Reed, Vernon Davis, Jeremy Sprinkle

LT: Trent Williams, Geron Christian Sr.

LG: Shawn Lauvao, Casey Dunn

C: Chase Roullier, Tony Bergstrom

RG: Brandon Scherff, Casey Dunn

RT: Morgan Moses, Ty Nsekhe

On the defensive line; Jonathan Allen, DaRon Payne, and Matt Ioannidis are the 1st team. They are backed up by Ziggy Hood, rookie Tim Settle, and newly acquired Caleb Brantley. The team also has Stacy McGee on the PUP list, and he will be eligible to return by mid-season.

Mason Foster and Zach Brown are your starters at ILB. Zach Vigil and Shaun Dion Hamilton can both call the plays on defense and are listed as the backups for Foster. Josh Harvey-Clemons is listed as Brown's backup.

Josh Norman is the top dog at CB obviously. Quinton Dunbar signed a new deal this year and and will look to make up for the loss of Bashaud Breeland and Kendall Fuller as a solid starting CB on the team. Fabian Moreau steps into the 3rd CB spot after the team got rid of newly-signed Orlando Scandrick. A trio of young corners makes up the rest of the Redskins depth.

Montae Nicholson and DJ Swearinger remain the starters going into the season. Deshazor Everett remains the top backup, and the team hopes they can develop Troy Apke this practice only.


DE: Jonathan Allen, Ziggy Hood

DE: Matt Ioannidis, Caleb Brantley

NT: DaRon Payne, Tim Settle

SLB: Preston Smith, Ryan Anderson

MLB: Zach Brown, Josh Harvey-Clemons

MLB: Mason Foster, Zach Vigil, Shaun Dion Hamilton

WLB: Ryan Kerrigan, Pernell McPhee

CB: Quinton Dunbar, Fabian Moreau, Danny Johnson

CB: Josh Norman, Greg Stroman, Adonis Alexander

SS: Montae Nicholson, Deshazor Everett

FS: D.J. Swearinger, Troy Apke

No surpises for the specialists since the team didn't bring any competition to camp this year. UDFA CB Danny Johnson is listed as the team's kick returner, and Jamison Crowder is listed as the punt returner. Greg Stroman and Trey Quinn are the next men up at both positions.

Special Teams

P: Tress Way

K: Dustin Hopkins

H: Tress Way

LS: Nick Sundberg

KR: Danny Johnson, Greg Stroman, Trey Quinn

PR: Jamison Crowder, Greg Stroman, Trey Quinn