clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jon Jansen and Chris Samuels 1st-Year Hall of Fame Nominees

Two former Redskins offensive linemen have been nominated for Hall of Fame consideration in the first year they were eligible.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced their 1st-Year nominees tonight and there are two Redskins offesive linemen on the list.  LT Chris Samuels and RT Jon Jansen spent a lot of time on the team together  Samuels was drafted #3 overall and has been described as one of the best draft picks from that class.  He was selected to the Pro Bowl 6 times, All-Pro 1 time, and is on the prestigious 80 Greatest Redskins list.

Jon Jansen was a 2nd Round pick for the Redskins in 1999.  He was never selected to the Pro Bowl in his 11 year career, but he was a 2nd team All-Pro one time.  It's unlikely that either of them are enshrined this year, but congratulations to both of them.

The Hogettes recently announced a campaign to get Joe Jacoby enshrined into the Hall of Fame. There are 17 players/coaches with ties to the Redskins out of the 113 nominees for the 2015 Hall of Fame class.  Will any Redskins be enshrined this year?

Full List of Redskins nominated for the 2015 Pro Football Hall of Fame class:

WR Gary Clark 1985-1992

WR Henry Ellard 1998

RB Stephen Davis 1996-2002

OT Mark May 1981-1990

OC Jeff Bostic 1980-1993

OT Joe Jacoby 1981-1993

OT Jim Lachey 1988-1995

OG Mark Schlereth 1989-1994

DE Dexter Manley 1981-1989

DE Charles Mann 1983-1993

LB Ken Harvey 1994-1999

CB Shawn Springs 2004-2008

HC Richie Petitbon 1993

HC Marty Schottenheimer 2001

RB/KR Brian Mitchell 1990-1999

OT Jon Jansen 1999-2008

OT Chris Samuels 2000-2009