clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Washington Redskins Name Darrel Young 2014 Walter Payton Man of the Year

The Redskins have selected Darrel Young for the Walter Payton Man of the Year award for all of the work he does in the community

Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award is given annually by the National Football League honoring a player's volunteer and charity work, as well as his excellence on the field.  Each team names one player to be their Man of the Year, and then one player from that group is selected as the NFL Man of the Year.  The award was first given out in 1970 when Johnny Unitas from the Baltimore Colts won.  The last Washington Redskins player to win this award was Cornerback Darrell Green in 1996, and the only other Redskins player to win was Quarterback Joe Theismann in 1982.

The Redskins press release details some of the work that Young has done recently.  Darrel Young, Niles Paul, and Alfred Morris(2013 Redskins nominee) are a few names that you always hear when there is a charity event, and Young has been heavily involved with charities that support the military, the Washington Redskins Charitable Foundations, Big Brothers Big Sisters America, and many other local and national charities.