clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Keenan Robinson Receives Redskins 2014 Ed Block Courage Award

Redskins LB Keenan Robinson has lost time in his first two seasons due to injury, but has returned to play at a high level this season.

Tom Pennington

The Washington Redskins have announced that ILB Keenan Robinson has received the Ed Block Courage Award.  The award was named after Ed Block, the former head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts, and was originally presented in 1978.  When the Colts left Baltimore for Indianapolis, the award was expanded and the Redskins began giving it out annually to players who display extraodinary courage in the face of adversity.

Keenan Robinson was drafted in the 4th round out of the University of Texas in 2012.  He played behind legendary ILB London Fletcher during his rookie season, seeing some playing time before his season was cut short due to a torn right pectoral muscle in Week 12 against the Cowboys on Thanksgiving.  This prematurely ended his rookie season and sent him to injured reserve.  The following season, Robinson tore his left pectoral muscle on the first day of training camp, ending his season, and giving him the injury prone label by some.  London Fletcher retired after last season ended, and there were questions about relying on Robinson to take over his position, something that he had been preparing for in the film room for two years.

Robinson won the starting role as the Mike linebacker, taking over Fletcher's role of making the calls and checks on defense.  He has started all 9 games this season and currently leads the team in tackles with 75.  He also has 1.5 sacks, one forced fumble, on fumble recovery and an interception this year.  Robinson won NFC Defensive Player of the Week for his 14 tackle game against the Tennessee Titans in Week 7.

"After his second surgery in two years, Keenan knew what it took to work hard since he had just gotten done rehabbing from his right pec and was disappointed to tear his left pec. He worked hard again, missing another season, and put in time and effort throughout the whole 2013 season, rehabbing in the offseason as well. He came back at full strength and ready to go for 2014," Redskins Head Athletic Trainer Larry Hess said. "He has played at a high level as the starting middle linebacker. He continues to work hard and just really showed a lot of dedication and determination coming back on the field after sustaining two season ending injuries back-to-back."


  • 2014: Keenan Robinson
  • 2013Robert Griffin III
  • 2012Kory Lichtensteiger
  • 2011Stephen Bowen
  • 2010: Ma'ake Kemoeatu
  • 2009: Phillip Daniels
  • 2008: Reed Doughty
  • 2007: Marcus Washington
  • 2006: Randy Thomas
  • 2005: Khary Campbell
  • 2004: Brandon Noble
  • 2003: Fred Smoot
  • 2002: Chris Samuels
  • 2001: Cory Raymer
  • 2000: James Thrash
  • 1999: Tre' Johnson
  • 1998: Darrell Green
  • 1997: James Jenkins
  • 1996: Ed Simmons
  • 1995: Keith Taylor
  • 1994: Mark Schlereth
  • 1993: Art Monk
  • 1992: Anthony Johnson
  • 1991: Donnie Warren
  • 1990: Joe Jacoby
  • 1989: Neil Olkewicz
  • 1988: Doug Williams
  • 1987: Mel Kaufman
  • 1986: Darryl Grant
  • 1985: Ken Huff
  • 1984: Mark May