clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 College Football Hall of Fame Announced: Danny Wuerffel, other Former Redskins to be Inducted

The former Redskins quarterback is one of three men with Redskins ties to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2013.


The College Football Hall of Fame's 2013 class will include former Redskins quarterback Danny Wuerffel, former end (wide receiver) Steve Meilinger and former defensive backs coach Jerry Gray.

Wuerffel is best known among Redskins fans for quarterbacking part of the 2002 season, which was his last of five seasons in the NFL. After reuniting with college coach Steve Spurrier in D.C., he appeared in seven games and went 2-2 as a starter, sharing the position throughout the course of the season with Shane Matthews and rookie Patrick Ramsey. Wuerrfel threw for 719 yards, three touchdowns and six interceptions over 92 attempts that season.

At the University of Florida, Wuerrfel was the recipient of 10 different awards, most notably the Heisman Trophy, which he took home after the 1996 season. Wuerrfel led the NCAA in passing yards, touchdowns and passer rating in the 1995 and 1996 seasons.

Meilinger played at University of Kentucky under Paul "Bear" Bryant from the 1951-53 seasons before being drafted by the Redskins eighth overall in 1954. In college, he was given the nickname "Mr. Anywhere" after showing his versatility through playing halfback, end, quarterback, defensive end, defensive back and linebacker. He set school records for receptions, receiving yards and receiving touchdowns during his time at Kentucky.

Gray is currently the defensive coordinator for the Tennessee Titans, but coached defensive backs for the Redskins from 2006-09 under Joe Gibbs and Jim Zorn. He was a first-round pick for the St. Louis Rams in the 1985 draft after twice being named a consensus All-American while playing defensive back for the University of Texas.

The rest of the 2013 inductees can be found here.